The Swimming Pool

The swimming pool means two different things to Eve and Link.

Link, the golden retriever, believes that the pool is perhaps mankind’s greatest invention.   He was introduced to big bodies of water at the Foster Dog Beach at Lake Michigan.  He loved it, but  the swimming pool is definitely an upgrade over the lake.  The pool water is much warmer than the lake and there are no intimidating waves to slow him down.  On top of that, the pool has a ledge that makes it possible to dive head first into water without having to walk into it.  Link’s heaven is going to be filled with swimming pools.

Eve, the great dane, thinks swimming pools are scary death traps.  Eve is pretty logical, she realizes that she does not have gills, cannot breather underwater, and therefore does not need to be completely surrounded by water at any time.  To her, the only good liquid is the stuff that is in her dish bowl to lap up when she is thirsty.  Other than that, she prefers to sit on the beach chairs and snuggle with the closest person.  One time Eve actually jumped into the pool right after Kyle.  We think it was either an accident or she thought Kyle was drowning and needed rescue.

-Paul

golden retriever, link, swimming, tennis ball, pooleve, great dane, sleeping, by the poollink, golden retriever, in pool, tennis ball, swimming

4 responses

  1. Stephanie Learned

    I wish i had a full swimming pool for my pup… But i just buy them kiddie pools from walmart.. I think we have gone through 5 of them now. I have the cutest video of my chocolate lab doing a cannon ball in the pool and soaking us all.. I love how much joy dogs get out of the simple things in life. It really warms your heart doesnt it!

    July 27, 2010 at 6:15 am

  2. I agree Stephanie…pups really simplify things sometimes.

    How big are your chocolate labs now?

    We started with a kiddie pool for these guys as well…then eased them into the bigger stuff. They work pretty well.

    July 27, 2010 at 1:50 pm

  3. Stephanie Learned

    I only have one.. she is two and is about 80 pounds give or take. And she LOVES water. I always fing streams and ponds for her to play in, or if its really hot we just play in the hose. My blue heeler likes water too but isnt as obsessed with as my lab.. she will literally jump in the bath tub with me if I let her (found out the hard way) Now my little rat terrier wants nothing to do with water to him water is simply drinking and nothing more. I am IN LOVE with your great dane. I have always wanted one. My neighbors behind my house have a white great dane and he s about a year old and he reaches his whole head over our 4 foot fence and takes the ball from my chocolate lab and runs away with it. It has to be just about the cutest thing ever! Oh if I only had a farm I would probably have about ten more dogs 🙂

    July 27, 2010 at 10:49 pm

  4. Ahh, thats awesome. So you’ve three dogs right now?

    I can only imagine that the lab in the tub is a bit tricky, but kind of adorable.

    White Great Danes are so cute. Though, the poor things apparently have a big hereditary problem with their hearing. We met one on the dog beach a few weeks ago who was deaf. Still a charmer, though, thats for sure.

    July 28, 2010 at 3:44 pm

Leave a Reply

